Anticipation

I used to watch the Oscars with much anticipation. In the past, I would try to see most if not all the movies that were nominated for Best Picture of the Year, so I knew which one to cross my fingers for during the ceremony. This was BK (before kids) and now I am happy to have seen one of the nominees, Little Miss Sunshine (which cracked me up). I probably won’t stay up so late to see who wins and will find out on the radio once my alarm goes off at 6:10 tomorrow morning.

Now, I am anticipating some of the movies and books coming up in 2007. Here is a list of my must see/reads.

Spiderman 3 – In theaters May 4rd click here to see the trailer. Looks like Toby’s got a new outfit and plenty of special effects.

Shrek the Third – May 18th. Is there a baby ogre on the horizon?

Pirates of the Caribbean 3 At World’s End to be released on May 25th. I can’t get enough of Captain Jack and look forward to seeing the newest addition to the cast, Chow Yun-Fat as a Chinese Pirate.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix movie – released July 13th. If that wasn’t enough, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows book 7 is right on it’s tail being released on the 21st. Joe’s niece is getting married that same day – do you think it’s too late to change her wedding date? 🙂

A few funny movies coming this summer look really good – check out the trailers for Knocked Up and Evan Almightly.

Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer – after reading her other two vampire books in the series (you can read my personal review here) I am eagerly anticipating the early fall release of the third book, Eclipse.

The Other Boleyn Girl to be released in December, 2007 – I’ll admit it, I am a sucker for period dramas. Some of my favorite movies include Emma, Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice (both versions). I have just about finished the book and look forward to seeing the Natalie Portman and Scarlett Johansonn portrayals of Anne and Mary Boleyn.

What about you guys? What books and movies are you looking forward to?

8 Responses to “Anticipation”


  1. 1 Joannah February 25, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    I am totally unaware of what’s coming to the movie theaters this spring, but I’m impressed that you know. The Other Boleyn Girl sounds like my kind of flick. I finally watched The New World last weekend, and I thought it was a beautiful movie. The actress who played Pocahontas was enchanting.

  2. 2 Aimee February 26, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    I’m definitely ready for Spiderman 3, and I hate to admit it, but I am looking forward to the Simpsons movie, haha. My husband really wants to see 300. Not sure what else is coming out–I’ll have to check out the ones you linked.

  3. 3 ruthsplace February 26, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    You could always get to the bookstore early and then take the new Harry Potter book with you to the wedding. I’m looking forward to the release of a South African movie called ‘Catch a Fire’. A true story about the apartheid years, there’s some others, but I can’t think of them at the moment. 11 and a half hours at work, my brain is dead.

  4. 4 Doris Clark February 26, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    Thanks for sharing these!

    Keep smilin!

  5. 5 Ariel February 27, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Wow, I can’t wait for those either. While you are waiting though check out Veronica Mars on dvd. I just watched both seasons and I loved them. They can help you pass the time.

  6. 6 mrsmogul February 28, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    i want to read THE SECRET, in fact I am writing a draft about it tomorrow

  7. 7 Georgia March 5, 2007 at 1:49 am

    We do have a lot in common. I keep seeing “The Other Boleyn Girl” at the store and Know I would like it, but never picked it up. Now there’s a movie?? I’ll have to get the book now!

    Oh and Shrek…can’t wait.

    And of course the Harry Potters.

  8. 8 Kristin March 6, 2007 at 2:01 am

    Am I loser in that I am so excited for Shrek 3?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,150 hits

