Calm

OK, I’ve chilled out a bit since my last post this morning. I would always have a private chuckle when reading blogs and seeing those posts (written right around the time of referrals) in which the person is in freak out mode. Then I myself freaked and it wasn’t nearly as funny. I like to think that I tend to be rather calm and collect, so after re-reading my last post I can say now that I have chilled out in the last few hours. It also helps to receive such encouraging comments and e-mails from you folks!

Anyway, now with the potential of getting a referral early, we do have a lot to think about. Below are a few things on the top of my list.

  • Decide about travel – my husband and I really need to discuss how to handle our China trip. Like I said in the last post, the plan was originally for all of us to travel together, so if we can still work something out like that it would be preferable. We are also considering the possibility of all three of us going to Hong Kong first, then one of us traveling to mainland for the baby. This way we will be able to see family in Hong Kong and Leah can still take part in the adoptoin process.
  • Buy stuff – When I say that I haven’t bought anything for the new baby, I literally mean ANYTHING. Not a single diaper, toy or piece of clothing (unless you consider the baby sweater that I finally finished knitting a few weeks ago). I would also really love to purchase this type of stroller, which accomodates one sitting baby and has a standing platform for an older child.
  • Prepare the nursery – actually, our teenage foreign exchange student S currently occupies the space. She will be here until the first week in June, so if we want to work on it before the baby gets here we will have to move S out of the room. We do have a pretty large office space (where I am currently typing) so we could probably squeeze her bed in here. I want to paint the nursery, set up Leah’s old crib and make some curtains.

I realized also that I still do have time to prepare. A referral may come early next month, or it may not. In the meantime, we will just try to plan a bit ahead and then go with the flow.

7 Responses to “Calm”


  1. 1 chichimama March 8, 2007 at 1:59 am

    Instead of a sit and stand, look into a buggy board. It can attach to the back of your current stroller and be taken off when you only have one it tow. I LOVED it.

    Glad the freak out has calmed a bit, it will all work out.

    And still very excited for you!

  2. 2 wzgirl March 8, 2007 at 2:49 am

    What a day of emotions you’ve had! Wow. Most everyone else around here is ruminating on how damn long things are rolling…here you are trippin’ on how quickly things may be speeding up.

    What a trip.

    I’ve never seen a stroller like that – how cool. I’ll bet it is a bit of a workout in some terrain, yes? Wow, this is really happening….

  3. 3 Melissa O March 8, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    Well, of course you were freaked out! Holy moly. I hope this referral comes that quick for you guys. How exciting!

  4. 4 Rhiannon Huang March 9, 2007 at 3:42 am

    I tried to comment earlier, hopefully it will work this time!
    Wow, how exciting!!
    About the cell phone service in JA, I am pretty sure it will be fine, I remember ten years ago they had perfect cell phone service, and that wa sin the remote bush were I stayed!

  5. 5 Viv March 9, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    Whee! OK, if you’re going to be calm, I’ll freak out for you!

  6. 6 Katie J March 10, 2007 at 3:59 am

    I’m very excited for you guys. You sure have been waiting a long time.

  7. 7 Christina March 10, 2007 at 6:27 am

    Hopefully you will receive word soon. I am sure all of the details will work out. You know how that goes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,150 hits

