Your blog as a book

I saw this post on Soulemama the other day and thought you guys might find this interesting.

Blurb is a on-line book making company that can take the content of your blog and make it into an actual high quality book. I think you can edit a little after uploading your blog, picking and choosing the content that you want. That might come in handy if you want to skip some less than eloquent entries you might have posted (I know I’ve got LOTS of those)!

Soulemama writes: The short of it is that Blurb works by downloading your blog into their software, where you can then format and edit the book, and then upload it back to them for printing. There are many options along the way that will affect pricing, layout, content, binding, etc. I found it to be a rather smooth process, easy to follow, and such. Since I wanted one blog post (and it’s photos) per page, I just printed Year One this time. Still – that was four hundred and something pages long, making for some tedious formatting, and a rather hefty price at the end (this is all the fault of the quantity of my content, not Blurb). I’m really impressed with the quality of the book itself – it’s quite well made.

Check out her site to see pictures of her finished book. This might really be a great way to chronicle, in hard copy, your journey through the adoption process and could even take the place of a scrapbook after your little one is home. Now why didn’t I think of this?

11 Responses to “Your blog as a book”


  1. 1 mrsmogul March 9, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    WOW! I am checking that out! Thanks for the 411!

  2. 2 Johnny March 9, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    Interesting, but I’ve got over 500 postings an ye-ol blog. Might be hitting TILT on the maximum number of pages.

  3. 3 Project Ni Hao March 9, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    Cool. Thanks for sharing!

  4. 4 Les in NE March 9, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    I saw this, too. Even went so far as installing the program and starting to create my book when I discovered most of my photos (of books) are gif files and not jpeg. Blurb doesn’t accept gif so I’d have to go through and re-do all those book review posts with jpeg just to print the book. Too much work!! Just a heads-up for anyone thinking about doing this.

  5. 5 Lisa March 10, 2007 at 2:19 am

    OMG! I am so excited about this!!!THanks!
    Lisa

  6. 6 Jenny March 10, 2007 at 5:20 am

    Very cool! Thank you for sharing!

  7. 7 Wendy March 10, 2007 at 5:56 am

    How cool is that??!! What we can do now a-day with technology! It’s simply amazing. Thanks for sharing!

  8. 8 Stacy March 10, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    Wow! That is great! What a gift that will be for our families.
    Thanks for sharing this.

    I love the new header!

  9. 10 ruthsplace March 12, 2007 at 8:14 am

    That is a fabulous idea, thanks for pointing it out!

  10. 11 Kristin March 13, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    What a great way to start a Lifebook for your little one… me, well I have too many posts about losing my underwear… maybe with some judicious editing??


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,177 hits

