Celebrity

I was sad when I read the news that former lead singer of the 70’s group Boston, Brad Delp, had killed himself earlier this month. Even though I was a teenager in the late 80’s, I had a real fondness for 70’s rock. I went to a little club at the Jersey shore to see the group Return to Zero, which was briefly headed by Delp. They sang some of the more popular Boston songs, including my favorite More than a Feeling. I even got to shake his hand.

This got me thinking about which celebrities (and this list is brief, let me tell you) who I have rubbed shoulders with.

Dr. Maya Angelou – almost ten years ago I was working for a corporate relocation company and traveled to our international conference once a year. Each time we would have a guest speaker. This particular year we had hired Dr. Angelou. I was psyched about getting to hear Dr. Angelou in person and was not disappointed. Afterwards we took a survey from the conference participants and she was highly rated. Even though I didn’t get to personally meet her, the event planner (who totally sucked up to me every chance she got) had Dr. Angelou sign one of her poetry books, Phenomenal Women, for me. It is one of my most treasured possesions.

General Norman Schwarzkopf – Same situation as Dr. Angelou. General Schwarzkopf was highered, for $70,000.00, to make an hour long speech (pretty good money, huh). Actually, I got to see him twice since I switched jobs within the company and had to attend another conference, this time with the General Schwarzkopf speaking again. The first time though I wiggled my way past security in order to stand in the same room with him. He was this close

Mary Higgins Clark – Mystery writer and best selling author, I attended a book signing with my mother (who is a big fan) and Leah. She was a very gracious woman, answering questions and allowing pictures to be taken (here she is with my Mom).

Deborah Norville – the day after the Oklahoma City bombing, my Mother and I were on a plan to where else but OKCity. My sister was living in Lawton, OK at the time so this was a planned trip. A lot of press had already gone out there, but I found Deborah Norville in first class. We teased my father once we arrived in OK for not coming with us (he always had a little crush on her).

Liam Neeson – Here’s the scenario: A few years back I was taking a walk through the neighborhood I grew up in with my friend. The town is in rural NJ. I would have sworn on my own life that as I came up the hill I almost walked right into Liam Neeson. He took one look at the surprise on my face, nodded and walked on. I quickly turned to my friend to said something like “oh my god i think that was liam neeson who just walked by” only to have her reply “who’s Liam Neeson?” I know that the chance that it was really that totally cute Mr. Neeson, and not someone who looks just like him, is slim, but I like to think it was really him.

How about you guys? Have you hob-knobed with any celebrities?

14 Responses to “Celebrity”


  1. 1 Kristin March 24, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    Liam Neeson is H-O-T-T-T-T!!

  2. 2 Connie March 24, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    Liam…now there’s a good one.

    Maya Angelou…I love her!

    Me and celebs…not so much unless you count the Fonz, Bill Cosby getting off an elevator and (the now deceased) Billy Barty. Liam, wherefore art thou?

  3. 3 Tammy March 24, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    Wow, that’s quite a list for a Jersey girl.

    I can only think of one ‘celebrity’ who I’ve met – Randall ‘Tex’ Cobb, heavyweight boxer and actor. He was one of my ex-boss’ friends. He would visit the office often, & hang out. Nice guy, but a little flighty.

    Any celebrities you’d like to meet?

    I’d like to meet Oprah (’cause she’s such a philanthropist), and Jodi Picoult (’cause she’s my favorite author). That’s all I can come up with so far.

  4. 4 Becky March 24, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    Gosh – wish I could say I have – have had some great authors sign books for me – that I have chatted with briefly – Kate DiCamillo, Katherine Hannigan, Cynthia Kadohata to name a few – but nothing more…..sigh!!!

  5. 5 Stephanie March 25, 2007 at 12:02 am

    Kristin & Connie, Yep – gotta love Liam
    Tammy, I sure wouldn’t mind meeting Johnny Depp in a dark alley! I wouldn’t mind meeting Oprah either.
    Becky, I love Kate DiCamillo – very cool.
    Stephanie

  6. 6 Joannah March 25, 2007 at 2:24 am

    When I worked at Disneyland, Richard Simmons hugged me. He was just trying to butter me up so I’d take him up to the front of the line. That wasn’t going to happen. I also saw Michael Jackson. He rode in the shuttle I was operating at Star Tours. He had some little boys with him…

    I know I saw other celebs there, but I’ve forgotten who they were now. It’s been a long time!

    Once, my friend and I were having a late lunch at Cafe Chin Chin on Sunset in LA, and Matthew Perry was sitting at the next table. I wouldn’t have even noticed him, but my friend did right away. She waved at him. I just figured he should be allowed to eat his chow mein in peace. Since then, I’ve developed a little crush on him – I’ve been watching Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip. Now I’d wave to him over my won ton soup for sure! 😉

    I got to meet Amy Grant backstage at one of her concerts. That was neat. I’ve been a fan of hers since I was a teenager. She was beautiful and so gracious to this little group of strangers who’d managed to get permission to go backstage and shake her hand.

    I’ve met some well-known songwriters in Nashvile – probably no one you’d be familiar with. But you know their songs!

    Oops! I’ve written a book… 😉

  7. 7 Kim March 25, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    I met Sylvester Stallone very briefly when I was 15 years old. I had a bit of a crush on him at the time, and my cousin’s husband was a body guard for Sly, so het arranged for me to meet him once when he was in town. Back in the day, that man was HOT!

  8. 8 ruthsplace March 26, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    No celebs for me. You would be very good at playing 6 degrees of separation…

  9. 9 Katie J March 26, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    When I was young, I met one of the women from “Eight is Enough”.

    When I was in LA, I sat a few seats from Cheryl Tiegs during “Rent” and saw Lane Smith on Rodeo Drive. (Yes, he’s pretty obscure.)

    I met and talked to Jeff Daniels at an Ann Arbor, Michigan record store. (He lives in the area.)

    I was this close to Sharon Stone in an Asian mall in San Francisco.

    When I worked at a Psych clinic in San Diego we had guest speakers in a room of about 40 people and Deepak Chopra was one of the speakers.

    I think there are more, but I can’t think of any right now.

    Johnny Depp? Yeah, I’d like to have that story.

  10. 10 sybil March 27, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    I worked in retail in the Washington, DC area for a long time so I’ve had lots of close encounters; Ursula Andress, Chelsea Clinton, Jerry Springer, Bryan Ferry, Michael Stype and Eartha Kitt were all memorable, but my favorite was then Chairman of the Joint Cheifs, Colin Powell.

    His son lived in our cul-de-sac and my husband and I intercepted him as he was leaving his sons house while we were walking our dogs. He was very nice, stopped to pet the dogs and chatted for a couple of minutes.

    I also sat in front of Emmanuel Lewis on an airplane a couple of years ago.

  11. 11 Viv March 27, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Dustin Hoffman, in Kyoto Japan. I was living there and had a Japanese friend with me at the time. I saw him in a store (he was there to promote “Rain Man”. My friend said “Dusty Hoffman (they call him Dusty there) he is American – you should go talk to him! I went up to him and very awkwardly said “Mr. Hoffman, I love your movies – welcome to Japan!” Feeling like the biggest geek in the universe, and regretting my action, I whipped around and skulked out very quickly. My friend was watching the whole thing and said he had this very surprised and yet bemused look on his face and he just watched me walk out. Embarrassing. Oh yeah, and I immediately went to a public phone booth to call my workplace to tell them why I was late, and I left my wallet full of cash on the phone booth. It was not there when I went back.

    This is too long but I have one more. When I lived in San Francisco, Robin Williams lived there too and he was well known from Mork and Mindy but also was still doing some stand-up in local places. I was waiting for a blind date outside of a nightclub (which was next to a comedy club) and waiting, and waiting. I was getting very angry and about to leave. A car pulled up and Robin Williams walked out towards the comedy club. He walked right by me and I swear, gave me a tilted head look that said “Smile!” My date showed up later and instead of going to the nightclub we went into the comedy club and saw Robin.

    I have others but those are the big ones and I’ll spare you!

  12. 12 Kikalee April 3, 2007 at 3:08 am

    I had dinner at a table next to Cloris Leachman and her family. And a girlfriend dated Florence Henderson’s son for a while and attended a dinner party at my place.

    I attended a wedding where I sat at a table next to Robert Pinsky (poet laureate) and other poetry powerhouses. They’re a raucous bunch!

    I wish I had something juicier!

  13. 13 Heather April 7, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    This is too funny that I just read this post today (4/8) because lastnight I was at a small party where we were all stating what celebs we’d encountered. I think I was the one with the most brushes with fame than anyone there…lol.

    Her’s my list, and I won’t get into the details of each encounter because the post would be WAY too long (there wre all individual encounters, all in the NY area, and many of them I have waited on in restaurants):

    Susan Lucci, Chi Chi Rodriguez (retired pro golfer), The Beach Boys, Tony Darrow (of Goodfellas fame), Maureen O’Hara, Geraldo Rivera, ALL of the 1994 Rangers ice hockey team (multiple times), Jacklyn Smith, Al Sharpton, Lenny Kravits, the band Rusted Root (hung out drinking beers with them for 45 minutes before I even realized that it was them who I was hanging with – and I as a huge fan and didn’t even recognize them…lol. Can you say “DUH!”), Billy Joel’s band, a few NY area news anchors (one on the corner of my street, another in a diner at the booth across from us), and my all-time favorite, Chuck McCann.

  14. 14 Shannon April 28, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Liam Neeson, oh my…yum.

    Maya Angelou was a professor at my school…but only senior English majors could get into her classes. But one time Oprah came to visit her and I was in the fitness center with Oprah, that was cool.

    Rode an elevator with Andy Garcia–he was gorgeous and gracious.

    Got yelled at by Donald Sutherland–total jerk.

    Hmmmm…that is all I can think of for now, I know there are more!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,150 hits

