One Year

Today marks our 12 month anniversary of being “Logged In” to China. I can’t believe it’s been a year already. Last year we were vacationing in Hawaii when I found out via e-mail that our LID was May 18, 2006. I remember being so excited that it only took nine days from being DTC to getting our LID. Now, a year later, I wonder when we will actually be traveling to China.

Don’t get be wrong, I am not complaining at all of being potentially expedited, but it sure does make it hard to plan out our life when we don’t know if we will be traveling this summer, early winter or sometime in 2008. Joe’s niece is getting married this July. We are planning on attending the wedding in Calgary, but cannot make any arrangements until this next batch of referrals comes out, just in case we are included. I also spoke to the principal of Leah’s elementary school (she will be attending Kindergarten this September) about the possibility of her missing some school, if in fact we don’t receive a referral by the July batch.

We need to wait just like everyone else adopting from China. But for how long, we just don’t know.

17 Responses to “One Year”


  1. 1 kayce May 18, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    Congratulations on one year!!

  2. 2 amy May 18, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    Congratulations on your one year lidaversary….hopefully it won’t be too much longer for you all. Our friend who was expidited said it took him about a year of waiting before he got his referral….so maybe you are closer than you think!

  3. 3 Project Ni Hao May 18, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Congrats on one year – I’m right behind you. I’ll be checking your blog like crazy during the next batch. Keeping my fingers crossed for you guys!

  4. 4 Aimee May 18, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Congrats on one year–we’re right behind you, too. I hope it gets speedy soon for you!

  5. 5 Stacy May 19, 2007 at 1:19 am

    Congratulations on hitting the 12 month mark.

    I know what you mean about life being in limbo. Ryan wanted to plan a diving trip for December but he put it off ~ he still believes we may be in China then. I keep telling him to go ahead and plan it. I guess it is a good thing he is so positive.

  6. 6 Tammy May 19, 2007 at 2:26 am

    OMG, the unknown is the worst. Your process is like battling infertility – not knowing when it will happen & how to plan your life around it. Hopefully, you’ll be included in this next round & travel by the end of summer.

  7. 7 Connie May 19, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    Congrats on 1 behind you. Sorry about the frustrations of even MORE uncertainty.

  8. 8 Joannah May 19, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    Happy 1 Year!

    It is hard not knowing when it will all come down. We’re all feeling that way these days. 🙂

  9. 9 kikalee May 20, 2007 at 1:20 am

    It must be so hard waiting on expedited (or not even knowing if they’re treating you as expedited for sure). Gah. Hoping the big day is *very* soon. The wait is killing me for you!

  10. 10 boogiemum May 21, 2007 at 12:41 am

    Congrats! I can’t even imagine what it must be like to wait for so long. I hope the time passes quickly for you and everything goes smoothly.

  11. 11 Heather May 21, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    Happy LIDaversary, chica… You’ll have to let me know about your referral too, because I’ve scheduled a waiting families BBQ on Aug. 18th! The invites are soon to be sent… I’m hoping you can make it, but I’m hoping more that you’ll be in China 🙂

  12. 12 Kim May 22, 2007 at 12:53 am

    WOO HOO one year down 🙂

  13. 13 georgia May 23, 2007 at 12:56 am

    Happy One Year! I hope it isn’t that much longer for you!

  14. 14 Viv May 24, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Happy anniversary, and I hope it won’t be long now!

  15. 15 Wendy May 25, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    12 months down…hopefully not very many more to go!!!

  16. 16 Donna May 25, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    Hi Stephanie,

    Congrats on reaching the one year mark! It was just three months ago we reached a year…it seemed like such a major milestone, and we all need those during this long wait.

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you’ll be expedited. I’m not going to say that I’m not a little jealous, but the sooner we can get our babies the better!

    Donna 🙂

  17. 17 Alexandra May 17, 2017 at 5:23 am

    I love quiltcam time! And my husband is also shaking his head when i’m watching. I can only watch when she is doing it on Sunday afternoon. When she starts at 2pm it is 8pm in the Netherlands. When she starts at 8 or 9pm it is in the middle in the night here and I need my sleep! She is so generous in everything she shares with us, who wouldn’t love he0ruBt&#823?;. Even though I’m a fan for many years I still don’t have a single book she has written. They are not easy to be found in the Netherlands. So I would love to win one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,150 hits

