A bummer of a movie

Each evening, right after we finish dinner, either myself of my husband get up and wash the dishes. It is a ritual that we both got into shortly after we were married. Neither of us want to be faced with a big pile of dirty dishes when we wake up in the morning. It is nice to end the day a little bit neat and tidy.

This is how I prefer my movies to end. I know that it isn’t realistic, but it is nice to walk out of a movie theater after two plus hours and feel all warm and fuzzy inside. This is not how I felt at the end of Pirates of the Caribbean 3.

If you read this blog with any regularity, you know that I have been anticipating the release of Potc 3 for months now. I have re-watched the previous two just to make sure that I have the story straight. I loved the first movie and thouroughly enjoyed the second one. This third movie left me confused, dazed and just plain annoyed by the ending.

SPOILER ALERT! If you haven’t already seen the movie and still want to spend your hard earned cash to see it, stop reading now. First, the good. The special effects were awesome and to see them on a big screen was fun. The opening scene is Singapore and their voyage to Davy Jones locker was also pretty interesting. And in typical Jack Sparrow fashion, the flipping of the boat was a fun scene. Towards the end of the movie, when the epic battle begins and Will and Elizabeth are married, the movie picks up speed and keeps you interested with all that good swashbuckling fun.

Unfortunately, the really bad parts of the movie overshadowed the good. The whole Captain Jack hallucination part was totally over the top and overdone. The plot-line with Tia Dalma/Calypso had great potential, but then abruptly ended during the ridiculous, almost laughable scene when she is released and turns into a 50 foot version of herself and then collapses into millions of crabs. What? The fact that Chow-Yun Fat was totally underutilized was also a disappointment. Worsted of all was the fact that after Will was stabbed by Davey Jones, Jack Sparrow then helped Will stab the heart, in turn getting his own heart ripped out and being imprisoned to the sea. So Will gets to sail out to see after having just one day with Elizabeth and won’t show up until ten years from now? What happened to happily ever after? Don’t you think it would have made more sense for Jack to stab the heart, let Will die and then they all go back to the Locker to save Will? Don’t they remember the way? And why do I really care?

I care because it was supposed to be a happy ending, not end up like this. As with my pile of dishes, I want everything neat and tidy in the end. All I found with Potc 3 was a big mess. I sure hope the Harry Potter movie is better than this!

10 Responses to “A bummer of a movie”


  1. 1 Michelle June 1, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    I just saw it yesterday and I felt the same way. I was a little dissapointed.

  2. 2 Aimee June 2, 2007 at 12:10 am

    Bummer. I hate when movies that you look forward to for such a long time end up being disappointing. I haven’t seen Spiderman 3 yet, but I’ve heard enough bad things that I think I might be disappointed by it.

  3. 3 Wendy June 2, 2007 at 3:26 am

    BOOOOOO!!! I was thinking that it was going to be a great story line. Maybe I should wait until Netflix?? Sorry it was such a let down for you! I know you have really been anticipating this for a while!

  4. 4 Wendy June 2, 2007 at 4:08 am

    Okay….I agree with you almost completely. But, did you stay clear through the credits?? There was a little bit of a happy bit that makes me fairly certain that there will be a 4th movie that will fix the ‘unhappily ever after’ bit between Will and Elizabeth.

    And I also totally am with you on Harry Potter! Can’t wait1

  5. 5 Katie J June 2, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    Wow. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I couldn’t stop reading your blog anyway. I think I’ll still have to go anyway, but thanks for letting me know. I was pleasantly surprised by Spiderman 3 because of the “moral” of the story. However, I went in with very low expectations since I wasn’t the one picking the movie. Sorry this was a bummer. I’m going to see “Waitress” which looks pretty good. I recommend going and seeing a really good movie to get the bad taste out of your mouth.

  6. 6 Mrs Mogul June 3, 2007 at 1:57 am

    I saw the first pirates while on a cruise but for some reason couldn’t get into it. So i have never seen the other sequels. I like Orlando Bloom though, he is cute!

  7. 7 adrienne June 3, 2007 at 4:40 am

    You know, I too really hated that they didn’t end up happily ever after. I wonder if they did that solely so Orlando could redeem his heartthrob status with the black outfit. It worked.

  8. 8 Kikalee June 5, 2007 at 3:14 am

    R. and I had our first date night last wknd, and devoted it to POTC. We almost walked out, I thought it was that bad. Is it me, or did Keira Knightley get more irritating? Too much bottom teeth. OK, my major beef is that there was not enough Johnny screen time. Shiver me timbers!

  9. 9 Jamie June 7, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    I’m not sure if you did this, but there is a bit more to the story at the very end of the credits. Actually, all the movies have a bit more at the end of the credits.

    It flashes forward to 10 years later, as Will is coming back to meet Elizabeth and his son. Having served his 10 years faithfully, he’s released from the curse. I’m glad I stayed- it mayed it slightly better, I think.

    I thought the Calypso thing was weird and abrupt, too.

  10. 10 Christine June 11, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    Did you stay for the extra scene after the credits rolled? I didn’t go, but hubby said it tied the first scene to the last, and indicated a Pirates 4.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,164 hits

