Going back to referral day

I saw this on Waiting for Briana and thought it was a cute idea. For most people in the pipeline, you knew that if your LID was November 7th or before you would receive a referral. I’ve read a few blogs where people took the day off from work and jumped each and every time the phone rang. Or had other relatives with them to share in the joy. For me, it was a bit different. I didn’t even know that we would receive a referral.

Wednesday, June 6th started out as a typical weekday. Leah has school in the morning, came home for lunch and at the last minute we decided to invite her little girlfriend Kimberly over for a playdate. Kimberly’s mom Debbie hung out for about a half an hour chit-chatting with me. One of the subjects she brought up was our adoption. Having been through the process to adopt Kimberly from China, Debbie is always anxious to find out how we are doing. Up until this point in the early afternoon I still hadn’t received any call and wasn’t all that optomistic. The extra bedroom had just been vacated the day before by our foreign exchange student and Debbie said “the timing would be just perfect.”

After Debbie left, I did some stuff around the house and then sat down to start reading a book  (And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie, just in case you were wondering). Four sentences into the first chapter, my cell phone rang at 3:01 p.m. and I picked it up not recognizing the number. Once I heard our rep from the adoption agency I just remember running for a peice of paper and a pencil, so I could jot down the information. When it came time for her to reconfirm my e-mail address so she could send pictures, I couldn’t for the life of me remember what it was!

Anyway, I called Joe right away, then my parents (who were vacationing in Hawaii at the time) then waited about fourty-five more minutes to get the pictures, showed them to Leah and her little friend and waited for Debbie to pick Kimberly up. That led to happy tears and hugging on my front lawn. It was an amazing day and one that was truly unexpected!  Oh, and I know everyone says this (and to be honest I always would roll my eyes a bit) but really, truly, once you see that picture you know that however long you had to wait, it was worth it. Every single day. Believe me.

On another note, Leah spent last night over my parents house. While she was gone, I painted two walls in the baby’s room purple. Hopefully this weekend (in between dance recital rehersal, closing programs at pre-school and the actual recital) I should be able to paint the other two walls. Anybody want to guess what color they will be?

17 Responses to “Going back to referral day”


  1. 1 spacemom June 13, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    Pink? Or Blue…

    I love that book (And then there were none)

    Wow, I love reading about people’s referral days!

  2. 2 Tammy (TammyChina1 - MSN) June 13, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    I’m guessing yellow.

    Thanks for giving us the play-by-play of referral day, it’s sooooo fun to hear about THE CALL.

    Enjoy this special time!

  3. 3 Lisa June 13, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    I am so glad you posted your referral day experience! I can’t imagine how wonderful it was to get that unexpected call! And you are so right, as soon as you see your baby’s face, you know the wait was totally worth it.

    And I think you are going to paint the walls yellow!

  4. 4 Doris Clark June 13, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    What a great account of a special day!

    Green!

    Keep smilin!

  5. 5 Heather June 13, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    Congratulations on your referral!

  6. 6 Connie June 13, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    Thanks for sharing the story. I love reading the referral day posts.

    As for the walls…green.

  7. 7 wzgirl June 13, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    What an amazing, amazing day.

    My first thought was green, too. But now I want to be different, so….red?

    • 9 Bryson May 17, 2017 at 8:13 am

      Mariela scrive:è moderno, allegro, giovanile ed è facile entrare a ogni post, ma i link e i disegni di destra e sinistra sembrano &#2e02;p2santi≵… forse bisogna abituarsi a tanti colori.

  8. 10 Lori June 14, 2007 at 1:13 am

    That’s great to hear! Congratulation on your sweet and beautiful little baby!!

  9. 11 Shelley June 14, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    That is so cool Stephanie. My referral was unexpected too. But it was the sweetest news.

    And you are absolutely right about it all being worth it! You just know that the baby in that picture was meant to be yours, and if there had been any other timing, she wouldn’t be.

    I think a green color.

    Shell

  10. 12 ruthsplace June 14, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Green…

    Thanks for sharing your referral day story with us.

  11. 13 Maryellen June 15, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Congrats on your referral. Our referral was unexpected too!! I about died when I heard our agency rep on the phone! Kind of makes it even crazier than if you were expecting a call!

    Best wishes for a speedy TA!
    Happy painting,

    maryellen

  12. 14 kristen June 16, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    Avacado green. Yeah, I’m going out on a limb here. Love purple and greens (the lighter ones) together.

    Loved reading about your referral day. I don’t know HOW you were able to even consider sitting down for a leisurely read!

  13. 15 Kim June 16, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    I say yellow, too – or maybe orange? Sounds odd but I love LOVE LOVE the way purple and orange look together.

    So excited and loved hearing about your referral day 🙂

    Kim

  14. 16 Rhiannon June 17, 2007 at 1:04 am

    I love purple and green together too! So I’ll guess green!
    I am excited to see you new little one, as she is only 3 months older than my Bailey..it will be cool to “see” them grow up together!

  15. 17 sherid June 20, 2007 at 12:08 am

    Aww… that brings me back to the day my parents got the call from the adoption agency that I was getting a little brother. I still remember the phone ringing. I was watching Woodie Woodpecker on TV.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,150 hits

