Parenting is not for sissys

I cry during romantic movies. I cry when I read a touching passage in a book. I cry when I think about friends that have come and gone. But cry while at the computer? That’s a new one for me. Please read this post. It touches on so many emotions first time parents feel (and how I have felt), that I could have written it myself, although not half as eloquently.

Thanks Perrin for a good cry. And good luck to my baby Leah, who will be hoping on the bus for kindergarten soon.

9 Responses to “Parenting is not for sissys”


  1. 1 Joannah August 19, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    Is tomorrow the big day – Leah’s first day of kindergarten? Oh, my! How exciting!

    Good luck, Leah! You will love it!

  2. 2 Kristen August 19, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    That was a wonderful post. Thanks for linking it!

    Good Luck to Leah Tomorrow… with her carisma and confidence, I’m sure she will be just fine!!! Have fun!

  3. 3 lisa and tate August 20, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    I read Perrin’s post and teared up also. Leah will have such a blast in K-garten! I know it must be hard for her momma, though. Hugs to you.

    Lisa

  4. 4 Tammy August 21, 2007 at 12:16 am

    Hi Stephanie. Thanks for the words of encouragement on my blog. I will find time to meet your newest addition before May.

    I jumped over to Perrin’s post & you’re right, so beautifully written. I posted this in her comments & wanted to share it with you. This was sent to me by Brent’s kindergarten teacher (made me do the ugly cry) and I think about it whenever I hear of someone sending their little one off to kindergarten.

    Here’s a big hug to you Mom, ’cause parenting “is not for sissys” and you’re going to need to wear your poker face when Leah boards that bus.

    Thoughts from the bottom of the beanstalk….

    Once upon a time there was a little boy named Jack who was about to climb his very first beanstalk. He had a fresh haircut and a brand-new book bag.

    Even though his friends in the neighborhood had climbed this same beanstalk almost every day last year, this was Jack’s first day and he was a little nervous. So was his mother.

    Early in the morning she brought him to the foot of the beanstalk. She talked encouragingly to Jack about all the fun he would have that day and how nice his giant would be. She reassured him that she would be back to pick him up at the end of the day. For a moment they stood together, silently holding hands, gazing up at the beanstalk. To Jack it seemed much bigger than it had when his mother had pointed it out on the way to the store last week. His mother thought it looked big, too. She swallowed. Maybe she should have held Jack out a year…

    Jack’s mother straightened his shirt one last time, patted his shoulder and smiled down at him. She promised to stay and wave while he started climbing. Jack didn’t say a word.

    He walked forward, grabbed a low-growing stem and slowly pulled himself up to the first leaf. He balanced there for a moment and then climbed more eagerly to the second leaf, then to the third and soon he had vanished into a high tangle of leaves and stems with never a backward glance at his mother.

    She stood alone at the bottom of the beanstalk, gazing up at the spot where Jack had disappeared. There was no rustle, no movement, no sound to indicate that he was anywhere inside.

    “Sometimes,” she thought, “it’s harder to be the one who waves good-bye than it is to be the one who climbs the beanstalk.”

    She wondered how Jack would do. Would he miss her? How would he behave? Did his giant understand that little boys sometimes acted silly when they felt unsure? She fought down an urge to spring up the stalk after Jack and maybe duck behind a bean to take a peek at how he was doing.

    “I’d better not. What if he saw me?” She knew Jack was really old enough to handle this on his own. She reminded herself that, after all this was thought to be an excellent beanstalk and that everyone said his giant was not only kind but had outstanding qualifications.

    “It’s not so much that I’m worried about him,” she thought, rubbing the back of her neck. “It’s just that he’s growing up and I’m going to miss him.”

    Jack’s mother turned to leave. “Jack’s going to have lots of bigger beanstalks to climb in his life,” she told herself.

    “Today’s the day he starts practicing for them…

    And today’s the day I start practicing something too: Cheering him on and waving good-bye.”

    (Author Unknown)

  5. 5 Heather August 21, 2007 at 1:49 am

    Steph – thanks so much for sharing this post with us! Good luck to you with Leah going to kindergarten… I’ll be thinking about you 🙂

  6. 6 Perrin August 23, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Oh gees, I’m flattered. As you can see I’m a wee bit behind the gun and behind on my favorite reads. If it is any consolation…I cried all the way through writing the post. I just couldn’t stop…maybe all that pent up emotion finally finding a direction.

    thanks for stopping by twoladybugs.

  7. 7 Cocchiarella family August 24, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    We are glad to hear everything went well in China. I am not a computer person but John has read through your trip and it sounds as if you had the trip of a lifetime. Maya, and of course Leah, are such beautiful girls, God bless them both. The smile on Maya’s face makes you light up. Congratulations to you all and we wish you all the best as you are wonderful people and deserve every good fortune.
    Freddy is doing well. He just had four teeth pulled as he was continually getting infections and was on antibiotics, but since their removal has been fine. Although he is not too pleased about eating puree food, or baby food as he puts it. John’s business after a slow start has picked up and is keeping extremely busy. My small cleaning business has also picked up and I am working Mon – Thurs and try and keep Friday free to catch up on my own housework. My children are all doing well. My oldest Francesca is learning to drive and after a quite shakey start has improved considerably. Chiara is keeping busy with her friends and dancing every Saturday morning. Fred has made the State Rugby team and will be going on a tournament to Sydney for three days in September. Marina is Marina and gets on with her own little beautiful life. Marina is playing Netball. Their team made the semi finals but lost. Even though we dont write often we think of you all very very fondly and there is not a day that goes by that we dont think of you all. Freddy wants to call you which we will do soon. We love you and keep you in our prayers and never forget how well you treated us when we were there. I hope one day that you can all come over and spend some time with us. Love Cristina.

  8. 8 Les in NE August 25, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    I just hopped over here to see what’s new (I’m a terrible blog-hopper these days!) and have to tell you that your kiddos are absolutely adorable! Maya is such a beautiful baby (congrats!!) and Leah is growing up so fast – my goodness, what a lovely young lady she is! I hope her first week in Kindergarten went well. Our granddaughter has her first day (in Kindergarten) next Wednesday. Where did the past 5 years go???

    I’ll be back… 🙂

  9. 9 Cavatica September 3, 2007 at 1:55 am

    Thanks for the link. Made me want to cry, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,164 hits

