Timber

tree 2See these two big suckers? Large Oak trees, over 100 feet tall, leaning directly toward my house. Every time the wind blew I would pray that one of them wouldn’t end up in my living room. So, just last week, we had them removed. It was an all day process, with no less than five guys on the job.

To be honest, I really didn’t like the idea of cutting down two perfectly healthy trees, but I was just so paranoid every time a little breeze came through that it is better to have them gone, for my sanity. Plus, there will be a lot less acorns and leaves to clean up this fall!

 

4 Responses to “Timber”


  1. 1 Tammy September 19, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    Holy cow – that’s a lot of firewood!

    I’m with you, better to be proactive and get rid of the trees than to worry with every wind storm. And God knows, we get plenty of windy storms here in the northeast. Next time it storms, you’ll rest a whole lot easier.

  2. 2 Tammy September 19, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    OK, I just realized….how many times can I use the word ‘storm’ in three short sentences. Sorry ’bout the redundancy.

  3. 3 Doris Clark September 19, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    I hear ya! We had to cut an 80 footer down as it was too close and leaning too much towards the house. Come to find it is starting to rot! Egads!

    Keep smilin!

  4. 4 Wendy September 20, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    We were in that spot last fall when my husband finally convinced me that the 65+ foot Colorado Blue Spruce that was looming only feet away from our front porch should be removed. I actually cried when I came home from work and it was gone–but now I am glad. I no longer cringe everytime the wind blows, or we get snow/ice.

    By the way–just heard via e-mail today that our LID is 8-20-07! We have one month behind us and didn’t know until today. I know that that is only a tiny drop in the bucket, but we are thrilled!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,168 hits

