Drowning

I’m slowing starting to drown underneath all the stuff in my house.

My daughter brings home A LOT of paperwork from kindergarten each day. Primarily this paperwork has something to do with money out of my pocket (buy these books, buy and sell wrapping paper for our fundraiser, don’t forget school pictures)! Along with all this comes the various drawings, painting and sketched pieces of artwork that make it through the doorway. Very cute and refrigerator worthy, but most get disposed of within a week in a most discreet manner.

I tend to be a boarder-line OCD person who likes a clean, tidy house. This didn’t seem to be much of a problem with just one little person in the house. Now with two (one of which is this close to taking her first steps), the piles of clothes, toys and just stuff keep piling up. Of course, I would probably have a better handle on this if I wasn’t so busy sitting at the computer fooling around with my new fun hobby. Either that or I need a cleaning lady, badly!

8 Responses to “Drowning”


  1. 1 Spacemom September 25, 2007 at 8:09 pm

    I found a great tip! Scan those drawings into the computer. Compress them and save them. Then the originals can get filed in the “forever arrow”(recycling) file.

    I hate paper clutter too!

  2. 2 Perrin September 25, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    Oh, I get this. It is driving me to near insanity. I’m swimming in preschool paperwork and between the begging to volunteer time and scholastic book orders…I may bomb the whole place soon.

  3. 3 Carol September 26, 2007 at 12:06 am

    I am with you there on the like it tidy stuff…I am with the other post – keep the token – oh my gosh this rocks piece of art per year – then scan the rest and have a printed album made say after 5 years – (of course not all – but alot of them) with little captions to remember each one..Fun Fun Fun – I like you – are hooked on digital scrapbooking – was never a fan of the paper kind – too many little messes and too expensive – have you found the freebie sites – go to my blog and there are 3 links there – also are you aware of the China Digital Scrapbook site – WAY Cool!
    If you need info just let me know
    c & k

  4. 4 Tammy September 26, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    I vote for the cleaning lady!

    FWIW, I stole this tip from somewhere & it has worked great for us – we keep three labeled magazine holders on the kitchen counter (the upright kind) and one is for school info for parents (lunch menus, calendars, schedules & misc. info); one is for things to do (scholastic book orders, fundraisers, homework packets, picture trip stuff – any kind thing that needs our attention); and the last is for artwork & other things that they did in school. When the artwork thing gets stuffed, we have Brent pick out the few things that he wants to keep and I pick one or two & we then put them in a file box to get it out of the way – AND OFF THE COUNTERS…the rest gets tossed.

    The scanning of artwork is a cool idea – next year you’ll have fewer pieces of artwork and more spelling, reading & math junk – not as pretty to look at ;0).

    Let us know how the digital scrapbook thing goes. Are you printing at home or sending it somewhere? Was it a lot quicker?

  5. 5 Rhiannon September 26, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Just wait until the little tyke gets into school and you will have double the papers!!

  6. 6 chichimama September 26, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    I second the file thing. Except ours lives on the dining room table, much to my husband’s dismay. And yes, housekeeping becomes virtually impossible with two little ones around.

  7. 7 Mrs Pushy September 28, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    I’m with Tammy- I vote for the cleaning lady too. Reading these comments, I have a lot of ideas now for when my child is in Preschool. Thanks~

  8. 8 lisa October 6, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    Oohhh, we were just talking about the digital scrapbooking thing at a shower for a coworker yesterday. I’ve never started scrapbooking, because I ca’t handle adding paper clutter to my fiber clutter-but I’m expecting a referral next month and thinking I should be documenting something ; ) Maybe I will start experimenting with some of our summer trips this weekend… ~lmc


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,164 hits

