Have you ever slept with a blogger?

I’ve been fortunate enough to meet some really great people through my blog. In fact, one person e-mailed me last year after realizing that we were using the same adoption agency. I have met her in person a number of times and tomorrow she and her husband are going to come here for lunch. 

Then there’s Tammy, who drove all the way to the Philadelphia Zoo to meet up with me last summer. Along with Katie and all of our kids, we walked around the zoo chit-chatting like old friends. 

While there, Tammy mentioned how she would be attending a scrapbooking weekend in the Poconos* and asked me if I would be interested in attending. Oh, and she also said that I could stay in her room (with three other women) to cut down on costs.

Normally, this would catch me a bit off guard. Here is this person, someone I just met maybe two hours ago, and she wants me to sleep in the same room with her for a weekend? Doesn’t she know I snore? Is she going to go psycho on me? But then I remembered that in fact, she wasn’t really a stranger. I had read about how she is a college student, just like me, currently studying to become a nurse. How she deals on a daily basis the sometimes rude questions people at the supermarket ask about her children, or what it is like be a to parent of two children. I might have just met her face to face, but really I knew quite a bit about her through her blog. She had felt the need to share her story in an on-line journal, just like me and for that reason I just made a new friend.

So yes, I slept with a blogger, and I’m not ashamed of it. Next weekend, Tammy and her family are coming to my house to meet Maya. I can’t wait.

* Unlike Kristin, who gets invited by GM to an all expense paid trip for a  media event in Memphis, my social life consists of scrapbooking weekends. Oh GM, call me please!

Up next, Johnny’s Rolling Meme of Doom…

6 Responses to “Have you ever slept with a blogger?”


  1. 1 Tammy November 9, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    Ha! Ha! Ha! I am seriously cracking up at your post!

    I didn’t hear you snore. Even if I did – what happens in the Poconos, stays in the Poconos! :0) It is a little crazy to think that we trusted each other enough to share a room, that’s the kind of stuff you hear on tv & think – what are they nuts?

    We are really looking forward to visiting next weekend. I can’t wait to meet Miss Maya! Hope she likes lipstick on her cheeks – cause she’s getting a smooch from me. Of course, Miss Allie wants to meet “baby Maya” – poor Maya, she may be pestered by Allie who is OBSESSED with babies. We’ll have to see if the spark between Leah and Brent reignites. Nothing like a long distanced relationship. Ha! Ha!

    Chat soon….

  2. 2 Katie J November 12, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    Oh man, I’m so out of synch with this. I hope we get to meet Maya Papaya soon too!

  3. 3 Lisa November 13, 2007 at 1:18 am

    Hi Stephanie,
    Tht is so cool that you will be in the scrapbook magazine! The kit I used is called Sun Porch by Amy Teets. I got it on Shabby Princess. I may have even gotten it free, I can’t remember…
    Lisa

  4. 4 Heather November 13, 2007 at 4:36 am

    Ha!!!!! I was lol-ing at the title…lol. I’ve had a few bloggers over (yourself included!), and one has even become quite a fixture a my place on weekends at times (Kristen at The Sense In It All). Funny how well I get along with bloggers and yet I won’t even let my own father sleep at my house…lol.

  5. 5 Wendy November 13, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Love the title of this post Stephanie! Thank you again for lunch–we had such a fantastic time. Angelo talked about how incredibly nice you all were–and how adorable Leah and Maya are. Your home is so warm and welcoming–just like you! We’ll have to have you all over sometime soon.

    Wendy

  6. 6 Kristin November 14, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    You are too funny! My biggest concern about Memphis was that I would be forced to “sleep with another blogger”… fortunately, we were indulged in big private rooms!

    xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,150 hits

