Guilty pleasure

 

Take a peek at Johnny’s Rolling MeMe of Doom below. Question number 25 is “what’s your guilty pleasure?” When I filled out the MeMe the other day, I couldn’t think for the life of me one thing that I did, just for myself. Then I remembered – tonight is Wednesday night. At exactly 8 o’clock this evening I will be locking my bedroom door, getting under the covers and watching my most favorite TV show, Pushing Daisies. The last time I was so enthusiastic about a TV program was when Buffy the Vampire Slayer was on. 

As described by Wikipedia

Pushing Daisies centers on the life of Ned, a man gifted with the mysterious ability to bring the dead back to life just by touching them. However, there are a couple of conditions: if he touches the revived person a second time, they die permanently; and if a person is revived for more than one minute, someone nearby dies.

In the pilot episode, we learn that Ned discovered his gift as a child by resurrecting his Golden Retriever, Digby, after the dog was hit by a car. He later brought his mother back to life when she died of an aneurysm. However, by leaving her alive, he accidentally caused the death of the father of his childhood sweetheart, Charlotte “Chuck” Charles. Even worse, Ned’s mother then fell dead permanently when she gave him his good-night kiss. Ned and Chuck were separated, she to live with her eccentric aunts Vivian and Lily, and he to a lonely boarding school. In consequence, both of them grew to be shy, repressed, and introverted adults.

Inheriting his mother’s baking talents, Ned becomes a pie maker who owns a restaurant called “The Pie Hole,” which he runs with the help of waitress Olive Snook. The restaurant is failing financially when private investigator Emerson Cod accidentally discovers Ned’s gift and offers him a proposal: Ned will bring murder victims back to life for one minute and ask who killed them; Cod will solve the case and split the reward money.

The scheme succeeds until they learn that Chuck, whom Ned hasn’t seen since childhood, has been murdered on a cruise. When her body is shipped back home, Ned revives her, but can’t bear to touch her a second time; the larcenous funeral home director falls dead in her place. Ned and Chuck fall in love again and he brings her home to live with him, but they can never touch each other. However, Chuck’s joy at getting a second chance at life turns her from a shy recluse into a vivacious beauty, and Ned’s joy at recovering his childhood sweetheart begins to break him out of his shell.

The series continues as Ned, Chuck, Emerson, and Olive solve murder cases, negotiate relationships, and explore what it means to be truly alive. Their stories combine mystery, magic, dark humor, giddy romanticism, animals, technicolor landscapes, musical numbers, and, of course, pies.

It is a clever, witty and oh so funny show. If you haven’t yet done so, check it out. You won’t regret it.

11 Responses to “Guilty pleasure”


  1. 1 Johnny November 21, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    It IS enjoyable in a slightly comic-book sort of way, isn’t it?

  2. 2 Carrie November 22, 2007 at 3:00 am

    So I went and checked it out at cbs.com and you can watch full episodes. I’m in the middle of my second one and I’m hooked!! It is so quirky and bizarre I love it. I also love the style of the show—it’s very Stuart Little Movie-ish if anyone remembers that one. I also LOVE the actress who plays Olive–she is a hoot!

    If you want another funny show try The Big Band Theory on NBC. You can watch it on-line too. It is VERY geek but geeks rule in our house so we love it. My brother says that my oldest son is going to grow up to be just like the main character Sheldon—it’s close but my son isn’t that neat UNFORTUNATELY!! LOL

    Thanks for getting me hooked on one more show I have to watch. 😉 (At least I can knit and watch!)

  3. 3 larkin35 November 22, 2007 at 3:20 am

    Its totally my favorite show on TV. One of the few I watch.

  4. 4 JoAnn in NJ November 22, 2007 at 4:00 am

    I like that show too. But nothing seems to take the place of my beloved Gilmore Girls (or Charmed for that matter)

    TV has lost a lot of its appeal for me.

  5. 5 Doris Clark November 22, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    We ADORE that show!

    Keep smilin!

  6. 6 Carrie November 23, 2007 at 4:22 am

    I was wrong about the stations that the shows are on.

    Pushing Daisies is ABC
    Big Bang Theory is CBS

    ….if anyone cared LOL!

  7. 8 Katie J November 23, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    Erm, yes Stephanie I did just call you Leah and yes I’m a dweeb. Oops.

  8. 9 Jill November 28, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    I love this show too! I love the bright colors and it reminds me of a Dr. Suess movie or show. To bad it’s on around Maya’s bedtime. No DVR or anything like that here. We’re lucky to have a TV at all and especially one that picks up digital network channels via antenna.
    This is my first comment here too, Stephanie. I remembered that you posted while we were in China getting our Maya after seeing your recent post (does that make sense?). All because of our daughters names. You were still waiting for your Maya. Does that seem like a lifetime ago? Your girls are just adorable. I love finding someone new to check in on from time to time!

  9. 10 Michelle December 2, 2007 at 2:05 am

    Me too! LOVE that show! I find myself almost nervous every time they get too close thinking “Oh no! He almost touched her!” It also makes me quite sad that he can’t pet his dog.

  10. 11 emperorbananaketchup June 13, 2008 at 4:31 am

    My other favourite TV show – one being Gossip Girl.

    Yes, it’s a guilty pleasure that I’m proud of!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,170 hits

