The Big “C”

Howdy! I don’t know how many of you still check this blog (I’m listed as having over 50 subscribers on Bloglines even after all this time – incredible) but wanted to give you an update on my crazy summer.

If you have been following this blog (or my book blog) for a while now, you know that cancer has played a part in my life in recent times. My Mother was a breast cancer survivor for thirteen years, only to have developed another type of cancer earlier this year and pass away in June. Three of my cousins have also had to deal with breast cancer. Now, it’s my turn.

Last week I was diagnosed with breast cancer. The official name is Invasive Ductal Carcinoma and it is the most common form of breast cancer in this country. I am being treated at a leading cancer hospital in New York City and have the utmost confidence in my doctor. I don’t yet know what stage cancer it is, but my doctor seems to think that we have caught it at a very early stage. I will not know my course of treatments until some further testing is done.

This in many ways comes as no surprise. As mentioned above, I obviously have a family history of the disease. My Mother was 52 when she was diagnosed with breast cancer. One of my cousins was 31. I am 35 years old. The statistics are also clear – one in eight women in the U.S. will develop breast cancer in her lifetime. Of course, the timing could have been a little better. After my Mother passed away at the end of June,  two weeks later I went in for my yearly mammogram to find the small mass deep in my left breast.

Even though this has probably been the hardest summer of my life, I also feel lucky to have the support of my father, sister, husband and that I have two young children to keep my spirits bright. I am also very optimistic that my cancer can be treated and that I will be a survivor too.

As fellow adoptive parents, your comments and visits to my blog have always meant the world to me, therefore I decided to be honest and share my story with all of you. I also hope that in telling you about my diagnosis it will inspire you to schedule a mammogram (yearly after the age of 40 if you don’t have any family history of breast cancer).

I will still be leading a normal life (or for what some people may call a “New Normal”) and will continue to write book reviews on my book review blog! I’ve also thought about starting a new blog chronicling my journey with breast cancer, but haven’t yet set it up. If I do decide to go ahead and blog about cancer and you would like to follow along, leave your e-mail address in the comments and I’ll be sure to let you know if and when it is set up.

28 Responses to “The Big “C””


  1. 1 AmericanFamily September 8, 2008 at 2:37 am

    I am sorry to hear you have to deal with this! I will be sending good healing vibes your way. If you start a new blog, I would love to follow.

  2. 2 Laura September 8, 2008 at 2:56 am

    I am so sorry you are having to deal with this. I hate cancer..I lost my dad to it two years ago. I do my yearly mammogram and even did a colonoscopy at 42 b/c of family history..but yeah, get the word out..too many people don’t . Sending up prayers for you and your beautiful family.

  3. 3 Lisa September 8, 2008 at 3:50 am

    I’m so sorry…I just donated today to a friend doing the 3 day cancer walk…I hope you caught it early and live a ling life!

  4. 4 Wendy September 8, 2008 at 3:54 am

    I am so sorry to hear about your diagnosis. You will be in my thoughts and prayers. Please keep us updated with how you are doing and your treatments are going!

  5. 5 Kristin September 8, 2008 at 3:58 am

    You know you are in my thoughts and prayers… so glad you have caught it early and your positive attitude is going to be a huge asset during your treatment and healing process… keep us posted when you can.

    xx

  6. 6 Kristina September 8, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Thank God for the mammogram! My thoughts and prayers are with you, Stephanie. I wish you the best of luck and a speedy recovery from this.

  7. 7 spacemom September 8, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    SEnding you some warm hugs. And yes, if you start a new blog, I would follow

  8. 8 Michelle September 8, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Oh crap. I am so sorry. I too just donated to a fellow blogger for the three day walk. You will be in my prayers as well. Please do keep us posted.

    Being adopted and not knowing my family history, I have been having yearly mammograms since the age of 34. Better to be safe than sorry.

  9. 9 Jacquie September 8, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Well crap. So sorry to hear this. Sending lots of good thoughts your way. If you start a new blog I’d love to follow along.

  10. 10 Stephanie September 9, 2008 at 2:41 am

    So proud of you my courageous duughter.

    You are loved by many and we’re here to join the battle.

    Love, Dad

  11. 11 Donna September 9, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    I hope the doctor is right and it is in the early stages. You and your family are in my prayers. My mom was diagnosed with breast cancer when she was 34. She’s turning 69 this month. I’ve gotten mammograms every year since I was 30.

  12. 12 kris September 9, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    I’m so glad you are writing your story and sharing it with us. You are in my prayers and your strength is such an inspiration.

  13. 13 Perrin September 9, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Yep, I’m following along and thinking healing thoughts all the way along too.

  14. 14 StarSpry September 9, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    I’m really sorry to hear that you have to deal with this now, too! I’ll be sending healthy, healing thoughts your way. I would love to follow along if you decide to start another blog about your journey.

  15. 15 Jenna September 10, 2008 at 4:52 am

    I am so sorry to hear this news. No one deserves this to happen.

    Unfortunately, my husband was diagnosed with colon cancer this past April and has been undergoing radiation treatments this summer and has his surgery this coming Sept 16/08. We are optimistic, but still it is a devastating blow.

    We have one adopted daughter already, and are also currently in the middle of our wait for another one from China, but we don’t know where this will stand rigt now. We have been advised to wait and see how my husband’s health is. It’s a terrible position to be in.

    I totally sympathize with your situation and will pray for you and your family for a healthy recovery.

    God bless!
    Jenna
    Canada

  16. 16 ruthsplace September 10, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    Very sorry to hear this news. I’m sending lots off healing thoughts your way and hope that your treatment and recovery go well.

    Ruth

  17. 17 Eileen September 11, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear this! Praying for a quick full recovery!

    Eileen

  18. 18 Carrie September 14, 2008 at 2:29 am

    I’m sure you don’t really want to here “sorry” again but it has to be said. My heart goes out to you!

    You are such an outgoing positive person you will nip this in the bud and we’re all sending healing vibes your way…I hope they help.

    Big Hugs,
    Carrie

  19. 19 carosgram September 14, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Yes, I still check back to see if you have updated. It may sound a little crazy but it is a relief to read this post. I was worried and now I know you are taking care of yourself but are very busy doing so. Yes, I would like to follow if you move to a new blog. Thinking of you and wishing you the best!

  20. 20 Deb September 15, 2008 at 1:00 am

    Glad to have you back in the blogging world … very disappointed that you had difficult news to share. Keep up your spirits and keep up the fight. And thanks for the reminder of what we women must all remember to do for ourselves and our families ….

  21. 21 Sarah September 16, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Wow, I’m so sorry to hear about the big “C”. Good luck with treatment, I’m sure that you will persevere.
    Take care,
    Sarah

  22. 22 LauraD September 17, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Hi!
    I am also an adoptive parent and cancer survivor. I also lost my father to cancer 4 years ago.

    My thoughts and best wishes are with you. It sounds like you have a wonderful medical team and support system.
    I would very much like to follow your blog if you do one.

    Hopefully my email will be “published” for you to see. If not, would you please let us know in a blog post? Then I can publicly post it in the message. I was hesitant to do so since no one else did.

    Thanks!

  23. 24 Katie J September 20, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    I’m thinking of you. Glad to know that it seems early. I would of course want to be updated on any blogs you would like to share.

    Breast cancer runs in my family and I had my first mammogram last year. I think I should go and schedule my next one though. Thanks for your bravery in sharing. I think it helps others for sure.

  24. 25 Project Ni Hao September 23, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Oh, I’m so sorry to hear this. I’m keeping you and your family in my thoughts as you start treatment. Sending a big, healing hug.

  25. 26 lifedroppings September 24, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Good lord, I am sooooo out of the loop. I am SO sorry to hear that you now have to struggle with this as well. You are absolutely in my prayers Stephanie, and PLEASE keep us updated on how you’re doing! Hugs to you, sister….

  26. 27 lifedroppings September 24, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    PS – that last post was from me, Headmeister/Heather

  27. 28 Summer May 17, 2017 at 5:30 am

    Ahhh Priya you looked abstuloely stunning! You made such a beautiful bride! I wish you all the love and happiness that the universe has to offer.You a special woman and friend! all my love, Chantelle xxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,146 hits

