Lumpectomy

Other than being a bit tired (and sore, did I mention sore?) everything went well with my lumpectomy yesterday. They removed three lymph nodes and it looks like there aren’t any cancer cells in them! My oncologist did say that they will be doing further testing on my nodes over the next week and sometimes will find cancer in them that they don’t catch during the surgery, but I am keeping my fingers crossed that they will be all clear! If they don’t find any, then I think I will be classified as having stage 1 breast cancer, which has something like a 95% curable rate! YEAH! I still don’t know what course of treatment I will be having, but will find out in the coming weeks. I have decided to blog about my cancer journey, in the hopes that I can help other people with this disease cope. If you are so inclined, you can visit it here “C” is NOT for Cookie.

12 Responses to “Lumpectomy”


  1. 1 Katie J September 25, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Glad to hear the tentative good news. I’m thinking of you and send good boob vibes your way.

  2. 2 chichimama September 25, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Good news so far, have been thinking of you.

  3. 3 Connie September 26, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Glad to hear this best possible news so far! Sending you bucketloads of good karma.

  4. 4 Lisa September 26, 2008 at 1:03 am

    I’m so glad it’s not stage 4! but still, scary! I’ll be reading…

  5. 5 StarSpry September 26, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    I’m glad to hear the good news! I’ll be following your new blog and sending good thoughts your way!

  6. 6 Laura September 28, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Glad you got news you can work with and with such a high rate of success. Sending you good thoughts !!

  7. 7 ruthsplace September 29, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    So glad to hear good news, I’m thinking of you!

  8. 9 kikalee October 2, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Phew. Good news. Glad to hear that, and just as glad to hear your sharing your story. It’s important for those of us (read: me) who are a bit lax…

    Thanks Stephanie.

    • 10 Roberta May 17, 2017 at 10:27 am

      Fantastisk skjønne disse nissene, og det kommer fra ei som egentlig har bittelitt nigenvegriss;)Blir spennende Ã¥ se hvordan hekleprosjektet ditt gÃ¥r, kan tenke meg det blir supert=DHvis du titter inn i bloggen min kan du se hva jeg ble ferdig med i gÃ¥r kveld/natt. Jeg ble veldig fornøyd, og det ble mottaker ogsÃ¥. =) One project down, several to go… *sukk*=P

  9. 11 Jody October 27, 2008 at 3:27 am

    Hi, I was checking in on your blog everyonce in awhile. I am sending you lots of positive thoughts and good wishes. My mom has been a survivor for 8 yrs of BR. CA. I am faithful with my mammogram.

    Sending long distance cyber hugs!
    Jody

  10. 12 Kim November 23, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Thinking all good thoughts – this sounds so promising! Hugs to you! Grab a comfy blankie, a nice book and a hot cup of tea.

    Love,
    Kim


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 57,146 hits

